2018 Indiana Logger of the Year

Darrell Minor of Hartman Logging and Lumber, Greencastle, Indiana is the 2018 Indiana Logger of the Year. Minor was selected for being an outstanding “professional logger” in carrying out logging operations, dedication to protecting forest and water resources, and dedication to safety. He was recognized at the Tree Farm Breakfast at the Indiana Hardwood Lumberman’s Association (IHLA) convention in Indianapolis on February 5, 2019.

Minor is noted for masterful performance in conducting logging operations through excellent skid trail and road layout, protection of the residual trees, and excellent directional felling of timber. He protects the soil and water resources by using skid bridges and implementing Best Management Practices throughout the logging operation. These activities leave the forest in the best possible condition for future growth and development.

He logs about 2 million board feet per year utilizing rubber tired skidder, knuckle boom log loader, manual felling of trees with chain saw, and a forwarder when needed. Minor markets all possible products in his logging operations as saw logs, veneer logs, pallet logs, and firewood when possible resulting in excellent utilization and minimizing waste. Minor has excellent working relationships with landowners, consulting and DNR foresters, sawmills, and veneer companies. He is noted for listening and going “above and beyond” to carry out landowner requests.

Attention to safety is very important to Minor. Nomination support letters state that he always utilizes personal protection equipment. Minor has attended Cutter Training Level 1-4, SFI training, CPR, and First Aid training. He is noted for taking the time to educate others whether landowners, foresters, or Purdue forestry students. Minor was the 1995 Indiana “Game of Logging” champion and represented Indiana in the national competition.

The Logger of the Year is sponsored by Indiana Tree Farm. Recognition of outstanding professionalism in sustainable forestry practices and education are two of their objectives. Awardees are selected by the Indiana Tree Farm Committee which has 31 members representing a cross section of forestry professionals in the state.

Ken Day is retired Forest Supervisor of the Hoosier National Forest.